The Short Review

shining the spotlight on short story collections

Angela Readman wins Costa Short Story Award

book-awards-logoHuge congratulations to Angela Readman, winner of the Costa Short Story Award, announced at the Costa Book Awards ceremony in London on Tuesday. Her winning story, The Keeper of the Jackalopes, was among six shortlisted stories put to a public vote, with Kit de Waal’s The Old Man and the Suit and Tony Bagley’s The Forgiveness Thing chosen as runners up.

We asked Angela what the award meant to her as a writer. She says, “It means so much to me to win, I’ve been quietly writing for years, but I still haven’t had a story collection out. It’s odd being a writer, sometimes its a battle, you want to keep writing but maintaining the faith you will get your work out there can be hard. I was starting to think my stories just weren’t good enough. And then I won the Costa Short Story Award. It’s amazing to me, suddenly people are reading something I wrote. That’s all I’ve wanted. I really hope writers will find it encouraging, I didn’t have to be a big name to win it, all I had to do was write a story.”

Angela’s debut short story collection, Don’t Try This at Home, will be published by & Other Stories in the spring of 2015. You can download and listen to this year’s Costa Short Story Award’s shortlisted stories here.

One comment on “Angela Readman wins Costa Short Story Award

  1. Pingback: Costa Short Story Award Winner | the incubator journal

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on January 30, 2014 by in awards, story prize and tagged , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 533 other followers

