The Short Review

shining the spotlight on short story collections

Short Review Author Among Story Prize finalists

The $20,000 Story Prize, run by Larry Dark (who Sarah Salway interviewed for us here), is an very prestigious annual book award for short story collections written in English and published in the U.S. during a calendar year. It was won last year by Wells Tower for his collection, Everything Ravaged, Everything Burned.

The Prize has just announced its three finalists for 2010: Short Review author Suzanne Rivecca for her collection, Death is Not An Option, Yiyun Li for Gold Boy, Emerald Girl, and Anthony Doerr for Memory Wall. Congratulations to all! Winner announced March 3rd.

But that’s not all – following the announcement of the finalists, Larry today posted the longlist, and this is an excellent place if you’re looking for new short story collections to check out! It’s a great resource for us, too – we have reviews in the works of half the collections on the list, will be checking out the other half. Congratulations to all!

2 comments on “Short Review Author Among Story Prize finalists

  1. Short Story Slore
    January 21, 2011

    3 more books to add to my list!


  2. Larry Dark
    January 21, 2011

    Thanks for the mention, but Daniyal Mueenuddin won The Story Prize for In Other Rooms, Other Wonders last year. Wells Tower was a finalist.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


This entry was posted on January 21, 2011 by in competitions, finalists, longlist, short story collections, the story prize.
%d bloggers like this: