The Short Review

shining the spotlight on short story collections

The Story Prize announces its finalists

The prestigious $20,000 Story Prize, awarded annually to a short story collection published in the US has announced the finalists for 2011:

  • The Angel Esmeralda by Don DeLillo (Scribner) 
  • We Others by Steven Millhauser (Alfred A. Knopf) 
  • Binocular Vision by Edith Pearlman (Lookout Books) 

We have reviewed Edith Pearlman’s stunning collection already (and Steven Millhauser’s previous collection, Dangerous Laughter) – and the other two are on our pile – and frankly I don’t envy the judges, having to decide between these three. I’d rather not have to! The winner will be announced in March. Good luck to all! Keep an eye on the Story prize blog for more about the prize and the finalists.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: