The Short Review

shining the spotlight on short story collections

Week Links: Long Shorts

“How long is Grand Theft Auto?” Philip Hensher at The Guardian Books on why short stories are as long as big books.

Wouldn’t that be novella? Julian Gough on “Bookeens” at The Irish Independent.

This week I read The Calligraphy Lesson: a long short by Mikhail Shishkin. I’ve been told to read his novel, Maidenhair, but I’m not sure I’m tough enough.

Websites: National Short Story Week starts on Monday. There’s a clear, useful site, with slightly uninspiring design (clip-art alert),  here. And, just launched: The Story Player –  shorts read aloud – and Short Story Ireland (resources aimed at writers than readers).

logo

This weekly links post is usually stuff I’ve read myself, but if you have a link you’d like to see here, please let me know at badaude-at-gmail-dot-com or @badaude on Twitter.

About Joanna Walsh

Writer, drawer. I've written for Granta, Tate, The Guardian, The London Review of Books, and others. I'm also an illustrator, and have created large-scale drawings for The Tate and The Wellcome Institute. Find me by Googling Badaude, or @badaude on Twitter.

Information

This entry was posted on November 8, 2013 by in Friday Links.
