The Short Review

shining the spotlight on short story collections

Week Links: Terrible Girls, and Women, and others…

Doris Lessing died on 17th November aged 94. Here’s one of her short stories, To Room 19.

I also read Television, by Lydia Davis.

I want to read The Terrible Girls by Rebecca Brown, November’s selection at the consistently erudite and exciting Emily Books.

the_terrible_girls_large

Reading the city: Gimbal, a project from Comma Press, and Literature Across Frontiers, looks interesting.

“Frankly it’s a bitch to get into history without selling your soul.” How I Beat the Devil by Paul Murray shortlisted for  the Irish Book Award, & there are a few more I haven’t read yet…

Happy 2nd birthday to The Junket magazine, publishing short fiction, amongst other things (here’s Making Of by Ned Beauman).

About Joanna Walsh

Writer, drawer. I've written for Granta, Tate, The Guardian, The London Review of Books, and others. I'm also an illustrator, and have created large-scale drawings for The Tate and The Wellcome Institute. Find me by Googling Badaude, or @badaude on Twitter.
